Screenreader Navigation - [Skip to Content  | Skip to Main Navigation ]
[FSU Seal Image]
Florida State University

Page supergraphic

FSU /  College of Business / Quicklinks / College of Business Features / FSU’s Dedman School of Hospitality, Society of Hosts honors Starbucks Coffee president, China and Pacific, as 2011 Alumnus of the Year

FSU’s Dedman School of Hospitality, Society of Hosts honors Starbucks Coffee president, China and Pacific, as 2011 Alumnus of the Year

John Culver, president, Starbucks Coffee China and Asia Pacific, will be honored Friday evening by the Dedman School of Hospitality and the Florida Society of Hosts as 2011 Alumnus of the Year. The event takes place from 6-8 p.m. in the Hotel Duval Horizon Ballroom and Roof Top Terrace.

Culver majored in hotel and restaurant administration and graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration from Florida State University, College of Business in 1982. He joined Starbucks in 2002 as vice president and general manager, Foodservice, responsible for leading sales, marketing and operations. As president, Starbucks Coffee Asia Pacific from 2007 to 2009, he headed efforts to cultivate the Starbucks Experience for company-operated, joint-venture and licensed markets within the Asia Pacific region.  Under his leadership, the Starbucks brand expanded rapidly throughout the 10-market region.

Most recently Culver served as president, Starbucks Coffee International, responsible for leading the continued growth of Starbucks more than 50 international markets around the globe. Known for his strong business acumen, leadership, and dedication to developing Starbucks partners (employees), Culver played an instrumental role in building the foundation for accelerated international growth. In October 2011, John was appointed to his current role as president, China and Asia Pacific.

Before joining Starbucks, Culver was vice president of sales for Nestlé USA, where he was responsible for foodservice sales and development of more than 30 brands. He also held various management positions at Houlihan’s restaurants.

The Society of Hosts is the alumni association of the Dedman School. Each year the Dedman School of Hospitality, through the Society of Hosts Alumni Association, honors a distinguished alumnus with the Alumnus of the Year Award. 

Previous recipients of the alumni award include Chuck Floyd (FSU 1981), COO and executive president, Hyatt Hotels; Anne Hamilton (FSU 1979), vice president of resort sales and services, Walt Disney World Resort; David Gilbert (FSU 1978), COO of the National Restaurant Association and executive director of the National Restaurant Association Solutions; Ed Staros (FSU 1972), vice president of operations of The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company; and James Riscigno (FSU 1984), vice president eastern region, Club Corporation of America.


About the Dedman School of Hospitality

The Dedman School of Hospitality was founded in 1947 and has a long tradition of excellence in the Hospitality industry.  Boasting a nearly 100 percent placement rate for its graduates, the Dedman School’s world-renowned faculty have received numerous awards and recognitions, as well as regularly being published in top industry journals. The Dedman School of Hospitality is an independent, industry-specific school with its own admission and degree requirements, which is administered through the College of Business.


    Bloomberg Businessweek AACSB seal